Ten Strike Racing



  • Ten Strike Racing is a racing syndicate formed in 2016. It offers fractional ownership from claimers to graded stakes horses.
  • Ten Strike, which considers Oaklawn its home track, enjoyed its biggest win in Hot Springs in 2020 when Warrior’s Charge, owned in partnership with Madaket Stables LLC, won the $500,000 Razorback Handicap (G3). Warrior’s Charge is among the favorites for today’s $200,000 Tinsel Stakes.
  • Another top runner for Ten Strike Racing in 2021 is Grade 3 Stakes winner Lady Rocket, owned in partnership with Little Rock businessman Frank Fletcher.
  • Ten Strike, in partnership, was represented by its first Grade 1 winner in 2018 in Long On Value, who captured the 2018 Highlander Stakes at Woodbine. Ezmosh (G3 Arlington Classic) became Ten Strike’s first graded stakes earlier in 2018.
  • Founding partners Marshall Gramm and Clay Sanders both live in Memphis.
  • Gramm has a doctorate in economics from Texas A&M, is a professor of economics at Rhodes College in Memphis and the son of former U.S. Sen. Phil Gramm of Texas. He is also an accomplished handicapper.
  • Sanders, originally from Mountain Home, Ark., is a University of Arkansas graduate and a risk manager at FTN Financial in Memphis.
  • Gramm and Sanders were previously partners in High Point Thoroughbred Partners, which won 82 races in 2013 to rank ninth nationally. After continuing to put together partnerships, the stable was eventually rebranded, “Ten Strike Racing.” Gramm said many of our partners are at Oaklawn every Saturday. “We have some partners that own a piece as small as half-a-percent,” Gramm said.
  • Liz Crow, Ten Strike’s racing manager, is a partner in Elite Sales and BSW Bloodstock and a top bloodstock agent, purchasing three 2018 Grade 1 winners for $100,000 each, including multiple champion Monomoy Girl.
  • Ten Strike has horses at Oaklawn with trainers Brad Cox, Randy Matthews, Bentley Combs and Lindsay Shultz.
  • The stable is named after Ten Strike, winner of the inaugural Tennessee Derby in 1884, to honor its Memphis roots.

Photo of Ten Strike Racing