HOT SPRINGS, AR (Tuesday, April 12, 2022) – Some of the biggest names in Thoroughbred racing will be coming to Hot Springs Saturday, April 16 to participate in the first ever Hall of Fame Day at Oaklawn. The day, honoring members of the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame, will be highlighted by several special events, as well as presentations in the Winner’s Circle. The feature race will be the $500,000 Count Fleet Sprint Handicap (G3) for older horses going six furlongs.

Race fans will receive a commemorative poster while supplies last, and an autograph session with Hall of Fame members will take place on the north end of the Grandstand from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

“There are only a few other racing towns that can garner the enthusiasm and love for racing as Hot Springs, Arkansas, and we know this event will be a huge hit among our fans,” Oaklawn President Louis Cella said. “We are excited by the response we have received from the Hall of Fame members in the first year of this event, and we look forward to honoring some of our industry’s greats.”

Scheduled to appear are 11-time Oaklawn leading trainer Steve Asmussen, Bill Boland, Calvin Borel, Ramon Dominguez, Earlie Fires, Sandy Hawley, Chris McCarron, Bill Mott, Don Pierce, Laffit Pincay Jr., Edgar Prado, Jose Santos, Gary Stevens and Nick Zito.